CA CCW Permits
CA CCW instruction is offered with Best
Handgun Training, by appointment only. Call or email for more information. Contact us here.
Why should I take a CA CCW course
with Best Handgun Training???
The answer is simple. I
instruct my CCW courses to fully prepare the CCW holder for carrying a concealed weapon. You will receive
some of the absolute BEST training available!! Don't settle for a course which may ultimately provide
you with just the bare minimum training. Carrying a concealed weapon is a tremendous amount of responsibility, and
you deserve the best.
***Note*** If your county requires
an 8 hour training, you are welcome to attend a 16 hour training course, at no additional cost. This will better
prepare you to carry a concealed weapon in public.
Best Handgun Training will be
instructing CA CCW training courses:
El Dorado County CCW (8 hour initial course, 4 hour
Nevada County CCW (8 hour initial
course, 4 hour renewal)
Placer County CCW (8 hour initial course, 4 hour
County CCW (16 hour initial course, 8 hour renewal)
Sutter County CCW (8 hour initial course, 4 hour
CCW (8 hour initial course, 4 hour renewal)
All courses are at a minimum of these
required hours, and may have the potential to go beyond the minimum hours
Prior to scheduling a CCW training course, you must verify
that you do not have any dis-qualifiers.
To attend a
Here. You MUST schedule an appointment for
attendance. First review the below pdf document for
Unlike most states, CA is a "may issue" state
when it comes to Concealed Weapons Permits.
California CCW permits are generally issued by
the Sheriff of the county which you reside or work in.
The Sheriff of the county which you are
applying in will determine if "good cause" exists for the issuance of the permit. The Sheriff or his/her
designee has the ultimate authority whether to issue you the CCW, or deny the CCW.
Of the 58 counties in CA, some Sheriff's
departments down right refuse to issue CA CCW permits. There are others that respect our 2nd Ammendment
rights, and issue a permit to law abiding citizens with good cause. There are other counties that consider personal
protection as good enough cause (very rare, so confirm with our instructors before you register
for a course).
Each county has their specific training
requirements to obtain your CA CCW permit. The CCW training may differ from county to county
While it is possible (in some areas) to obtain a
CCW permit in CA from your local police department, it is more common for the police department to refer you to the
The Sheriff's department approves CCW trainers
within the county. Depending upon the county that you reside or are applying in, CCW training consists of
8-16 hours for an original CCW permit, and 4-8 hours for a renewal. The original CCW permit is not valid
for a period of longer than 2 years, and must be renewed prior to the 2 year
For more information, visit this link.